2nd Youth Test between SL and Bangladesh: Match in the balance

By Ishani Upatharitha

Bangladesh Under-19 trail by 275 runs with nine wickets in hand against Sri Lanka Under-19 at close of day three of the second Youth four-day Test, at Chilaw Marians Grounds, Katunayake on Thursday, 25 October.

Left-arm leg-spinner Rakibul Hasan took 7 wickets for 93 runs for Bangladesh U-19

Sri Lanka U-19 won the toss and elected to bat before they were bowled out for 226 runs in 91 overs in the first innings. Bangladesh scored only 109 all out in 36 overs, in their reply, leaving a deficit of 117 runs.

Sri Lanka U-19 scored 233-9 in 92 overs for their second inning offering the Bangladeshis a target of 351 runs to win the match.

Chamindu Wijesinghe scored 55 off 69 balls with eight boundaries. Wijesinghe and Sandun Mendis made 81 runs for seventh wicket. Mendis made 36 in 71 balls with three boundaries. Sonal Dinusha scored 37 off 98 with three fours.

Left-arm leg-spinner Rakibul Hasan took seven wickets for 93 runs for the visiting team. Tawhid Hridoy and Shahin Alam took one wicket each.

Bangladesh U-19 scored 75 runs in 18 overs in their second innings. Openers Hasan Tamim and Sajid Hossain made 66 runs. Tamim scored 37 runs in 48 balls with five boundaries while Hossain scored an unbeaten 29 runs in 54 balls with four boundaries.

Rohan Sanjaya took the only wicket to fall, for 15 runs.

Chamindu Wijesinghe scored 55 off 69 balls with eight boundaries

The match was stopped earlier due to rain on Thursday. Only 67 overs were bowled on day three Thursday. The match will be continued on Friday, on its day four, the final day.

Brief Scores:

Sri Lanka U-19 226 and 233 (o/n 102/3) in 92 overs (Navod Paranavithana 36, Nipun Dananjaya 23, Kamil Mishara 13, Mohommed Shamaz 14,  Sonal Dinusha 37, Janishka Perera 00, Sandun Mendis 36, Chamindu Wijesinghe 55, Navin Fernando 00, Ashen Daniel 10 n.o., Rohan Sanjaya 01 n.o.; Rakibul Hasan 7/93, Tawhid Hridoy 1/24, Shahin Alam 1/31)

Bangladesh U-19 109 in 36 overs and 75/1 in 18 overs (Hasan Tamim 37, Sajid Hossain 29 n.o., Tawhid Hridoy 02 n.o.; Rohan Sanjaya 1/15, Ashen Daniel 0/33, Navin Fernando 0/6, Chamindu Wijesinghe 0/11, Sandun Mendis 0/7).