Amaraweera says no faith in Speaker appointed PSC

The United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) have decided not to participate in the eight-member Special Parliamentary Select Committee (PSC) appointed by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today (23).

Speaking to The Morning, UPFA MP, Mahinda Amaraweera, said that the UPFA has no faith in the committee appointed by the Speaker.

“The committee has majority Government members, giving them increased power and influence in the operations of the committee,” Amaraweera iterated.

He said that they believe that this is another way by which the Government finds an excuse to rid themselves of the blame that they have to face for not taking the necessary actions before, during and after the Easter Sunday terror attacks in Sri Lanka.

The Committee comprising of eight members, Minister of City Planning, Water Supply and Higher Education Rauff Hakeem, MP Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka, Minister of Power, Energy and Business Development Ravi Karunanayake, MP Kavinda Jayawardana, MP Ashu Marasinghe, MP Jayampathy Wickramaratne and MP M. A. Sumanthiran and chaired by Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasinghe was appointed to probe the Easter Sunday attacks which devastated the nation on 21 April.