Anura Kumara, JVP’s Presidential candidate

The JVP led National Peoples Power (NPP) movement declared JVP Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake as its Presidential candidate. Dissanayake’s candidacy was announced at a rally held at the Galle Face Green today (18).

It is after 20 years that the JVP has nominated a candidate for the Presidential elections.

In 2005, The JVP pledged their support to Mahinda Rajapaksa, in 2010 they pledged their support to Sarath Fonseka, however in 2015 they did not field a presidential candidate but ran an anti-corruption campaign.