Atapattu steers Sri Lanka Women to consolation win

By Ishani Upatharitha

Sri Lanka national women’s cricket team beat India Women by three wickets in their third and final ODI, which was part of the ICC Women’s Championship, at the Free Trade Zone Sports Complex, Katunayake on Sunday, 16 September.

Even though, the Lankan lasses had already lost the three-match series 2-0, this victory was special for them as it was incidentally the highest-ever successful chase by them in ODIs.

Indian innings –

Sri Lanka Women won the toss and elected to field. India scored 253 runs for five wickets in their 50 overs.

India Women’s skipper Mithali Raj celebrates her century. (Pix Courtesy SLC)

Skipper Mithali Raj scored an unbeaten 125 in 143 balls with 16 boundaries and a six. Smriti Mandhana scored 51 runs. Both Raj and Mandhana shared 102 runs for the second wicket.

Deepti Sharma made 38 while sharing 92 runs for the fifth wicket with Raj.

Udeshika Prabodhani, Chamari Atapattu, Nilakshi De Silva, Kaveesha Dilhari and Shashikala Siriwardene took one wicket each for the hosts.

Sri Lanka’s reply –

Sri Lanka Women made 257 for seven in 49.5 overs, reaching the target with just a ball to spare.

Skipper and opening batswoman Chamari Atapattu struck the third century in her career. Atapattu scored 115 runs in 133 balls with 13 boundaries and four sixes.

Hasini Perera scored 45 and Anushka Sanjeewani made 22.

Jhulan Goswami and Mansi Joshi took two wickets apiece for the Indians.

India Women won the series 2-1.

Sri Lanka skipper Chamari Atapattu struck the third century in her career.

End of losing streak –

It also broke a sequence of ten ODI defeats in a row against India for the home side and earned them two points in the ICC Women’s Championship.

The last time Sri Lanka Women had beaten India in an ODI was more than five years ago, in February 2013 during the Women’s World Cup that year.

Brief Scores:

India Women 253/5 in 50 overs (Mithali Raj 125 n.o., Smriti Mandhana 51, Deepti Sharma 38, Hermanpreet Kaur 17; Udeshika Prabodhani 1/20, Chamari Atapattu 1/25, Nilakshi De Silva 1/36, Kaveesha Dilhari 1/37, Shashikala Siriwardene 1/55)

Sri Lanka Women 257/7 in 49.5 over (Chamari Atapattu 115, Hasini Perera 45, Anushka Sanjeewani 22, Nilakshi De Silva 15,  Sripali Weerakkody 14 n.o., Kaveesha Dilhari 12 n.o., Imalka Mendis 12; Jhulan Goswami 2/39, Mansi Joshi 2/43).

Schedule of T20 International series:

19 September – 1st T20I at MCG, Katunayake

21 September – 2nd T20I at Colts CC, Colombo

22 September – 3rd T20I at CCC, Colombo

24 September – 4th T20I at CCC, Colombo

25 September – 5th T20I at MCG, Katunayake