Commission to probe political victimization during last regime

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa today(10) appointed a Presidential Commission to investigate into incidents of political victimization during the Yahapalana Government.

The Commission will investigate into the activities of three entities namely the Financial Crimes Investigation Division (FCID), the Bribery Commission and the Police Special Investigation Unit (SIU).

The Commission will probe on whether the above entities have politically victimized individuals and whether internal processes have been compromised by the influence third parties.

The Commission will also probe into irregularities and corruption.

The three member commission consists of Retired judge Upali Abeyratne,  Appeals Court judge Daya Chandrasiri Jayatilleka and Retired Inspector-General of Police Chandra Fernando.

A gazette notice has been issued on the appointment of the Presidential Commission.