Constitutional Council appoints new Elections Commissioner General

The Constitutional Council  has appointed Elections Secretariat Director General Saman Sri Rathnayake as the new Elections Commissioner General with effect from tomorrow(16).

Rathnayake was serving as the Acting Elections Commissioner General to fill the void of a designated individual.

The decision was taken at a meeting held today by the Constitutional Council .

A list of names were sent to the Constitutional Council by the Election Commission to fill the vacancy inline with the forthcoming presidential election.