Constitutional Council to meet today

The Constitutional Council is to meet today at 4.30 pm at the Speaker’s official residence, the Parliament’s Department of Communication said.

The meeting will be Chaired by Former Speaker Karu Jayasuriya and will focus on activities of the Election Commission.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, former opposition leader Sajith Premadasa, and other members of the 10-member council are expected to attend the meeting.