Constitutional Council to meet without Opposition Leader today

The Constitutional Council Chaired by Speaker of the Parliament Karu Jayasuriya is set to meet today at 11 am.

The Constitutional Council consists of the President, the Prime Minister, Opposition Leader, a representative named by President, a representative named by the Prime Minister, and 3 representatives of civil organizations.

However, the Council will not see the participation of Parliamentarian Sajith Premadasa, as his appointment to the post of Opposition Leader has not been officially announced at the parliament.

Reports say Mahinda Rajapaksa will attend the meeting as the Prime Minister.