• Shanaka, Dickwella, Hasaranga, and Rajapaksa not allowed to play in CPL
By Revatha S. Silva

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) has not allowed current national players Dasun Shanaka, Niroshan Dickwella, Wanindu Hasaranga, and Bhanuka Rajapaksa to participate in the Caribbean Premier League (CPL), which is to coincide with the Lankan Premier League (LPL) in the months of August and September.

“The CPL is apparently having problems in getting down the foreign players because of the ongoing travel restrictions. Those four Sri Lankans were not in the original list. Therefore, we didn’t issue No Objection Letters (NOLs) for them,” a senior SLC Ex-Co member clarified.

Lasith Malinga, meanwhile, can still play the Indian Premier League (IPL) as he can even play the LPL final and join the IPL in UAE just a couple of days after its scheduled start. But Malinga has still not requested an NOL from SLC, the above official said.

As the entire cricket world is trying to begin playing international cricket in a hectic frenzy as their respective governments and health authorities are fighting the deadly coronavirus, none of the above franchise leagues have a 100% chance of being staged unperturbed.

In addition, the sponsors and television broadcasters are still not having a positive approach towards those events as the pandemic is wreaking havoc, creating a lot of uncertainty. On a positive note though, SLC this month finalised on their national team broadcaster, Sony, and its sponsor, Dialog, for the next three years.

Proposed fixture cards

CPL in Trinidad – 18 August to 10 September (24 days)

LPL in SL – 28 August to 20 September (24 days)

IPL in UAE – 19 September to 8 November (51 days)