Dayasiri back with the SLFP, appointed Kurunegala District leader

Former Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera has been appointed as the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) Kurunegala District leader.

Jayasekera had earlier resigned from the Government with 15 other SLFP Ministers and supported former President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

Meanwhile, the President today removed former Ministers Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, John Seniviratne and Chandima Weerakody from their SLFP District Development Committee cho-chairmanship posts.

The move came hours after the SLFP Central Committee removed former Ministers Susil Premajayantha, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, W.D.J. Seneviratne, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, T.B. Ekanayake and Chandima Weerakkody from their SLFP electoral organiser posts.