Elections Commission declares Gotabaya new President

The Elections Commission declared Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna Presidential candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa as the new President.

Elections Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya formally announced that Rajapaksa secured the highest number of votes and was elected President.

He said that the overall voter turnout at the election was around 83.73 percent.

Deshapriya said that Rajapaksa had secured 52% percent of the total votes which was 6,924,255.