EU concerned over the death penalty

The Delegation of the European Union (EU), in agreement with the Embassies of France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Romania and the UK High Commission, the Embassies of Norway and Switzerland, as well as the High Commissions of Canada and Australia  have issued a statement expressing their concern over the decisions made by President Sirisena on the views regarding the death penalty.

The EU has agreed to provide their expertise and knowledge in the battle against the threat posed by drugs.

However, the death penalty is an unacceptable denial of human dignity and integrity they argued.

‘We call on the Sri Lankan Government to maintain its moratorium on the death penalty in line with its vote at the 73rd United Nations General Assembly in December 2018.’