Functions of certain faculties in Ruhuna University to recommence

Three faculties of the University of Ruhuna are to be reopened tomorrow (17) after it was temporarily shut down due to tense situations within its premises.

The Vice-Chancellor, Senior Professor Sujeewa Amarasena had said that the Faculty of Science, the Faculty of Fisheries, Marine Science & Technology and the Faculty of Graduate Studies will be reopened for academic activities.

The University of Ruhuna was closed indefinitely following clashes that broke out between the Students Union and the non-academic staff on University premises on July 10.