Government MPs walk out of Parliament in protest against Speaker

Government Parliament members walked out of Parliament today in protest over the actions of the Speaker.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today appointed 12 members to the Parliament Selection Committee (PSC) which included five members of the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA).

The UPFA however objected to the nominations saying it wants seven members in the PSC.

The UPFA says it should have the majority in the PSC as it is in the Government.

As a result the UPFA attended the beginning of the Parliament session today and then staged a walk out.