Kiwis win T20 warm-up at Katunayake

New Zealand recorded an easy 33-run win over Sri Lanka Board President’s XI in their only warm-up game, before their three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka, on Thursday, 29 August at the Free Trade Zone Sports Complex (BOI) Ground at Katunayake.

New Zealand, after winning the toss, scored a decent total of 168/9 in their 20 overs. Ross Taylor top-scored with 53 runs. Out of the eight bowlers the hosts used, Wanindu Hasaranga received best figures of two for 35.

In their reply, Sri Lanka top-order collapsed in quick succession losing four for just 37 in 8.1 overs. No batsman in them contributed sufficiently to their total as they made only 135/9 in their allotted 20 overs to lose the match by 33 runs.

Tim Southee captained the Kiwis while Ashan Priyanjan led the Lankans.

The three T20I matches between the two countries will be held on Sunday, Tuesday, and next Friday (1, 3, and 6 September) at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy.


NZ 168/7 in 20 overs (Colin Munro 48 in 27 balls – 4×7, 6×1, Ross Taylor 53 in 34 – 6×4, Martin Guptill 22, Tom Bruce 13, Scot Kuggeleijn 13 n.o.; Wanindu Hasaranga 2/35, Shehan Jayasuriya 1/7)

SL Board President’s XI 134/9 in 19.5 overs (Shehan Jayasuriya 26, Dasun Shanaka 25 in 11, Bhanuka Rajapaksa 22, Danushka Gunathilaka 20 in 16; Scott Kuggeleijn 3/12, Ish Sodhi 3/43)