Landslide warning for seven districts

The National Building Research Organisation (NBRO) has issued a landslide early warning for several areas in seven districts, owing to the prevailing inclement weather conditions.

The early warning has been issued to parts of the Ratnapura, Kegalle, Kandy, Nuwara Eliya, Galle, Kalutara, and Matara Districts.
The NBRO has said that since the rainfall within the past 24 hours has exceeded 100 mm, people living in these areas are requested to be on alert to the possibility of landslides, slope failures, rock falls, cut failures, and ground subsidence if the rains continue, and also to be ready to evacuate to a safe location if the need arises.

It has identified the following Divisional Secretariat Divisions (DSD) and locations for potential risk: Ratnapura District
Elapatha, Ayagama, Kiriella, Godakawela, Kahawatta, Kolonna, Eheliyagoda, Kuruwita, Rathnapura, Kalawana,
Openayake, Balangoda, Pelmadulla, and Nivithigala DSDs and surrounding areas
Kegalle District
Aranayake, Galigamuwa, Kegalle, Rambukana, Mawanella, Deraniyagala, Dehiowita, Bulathkohupitiya, and
Yatiyantota DSDs and surrounding areas
Kandy District
Ganga Ihala Korale DSD and surrounding areas
Nuwara Eliya District
Ambagamuwa Korale DSD and surrounding areas
Galle District
Neluwa DSD and surrounding area
Kalutara District
Horana and Ingiriya DSDs and surrounding areas
Matara District
Kotapola DSD and surrounding areas