MPs Ranaweera and Weerawansa suspended from parliament

Opposition MPs Prasanna Ranaweera and Wimal Weerawansa have been suspended from parliament.

The motion was passed to suspend Ranaweera for four weeks and Weerawansa for two weeks.

The decision was made following a vote on a proposal made according to the new code of conduct of parliament.

When Ranaweera’s motion was taken up 41 votes were reportedly cast in support of the motion and 21 against it while for Weerawansa’s motion 39 had voted in favour and 21 against it.