National Cricket Selection Committee appointed after three-month delay

Ashantha De Mel (left) continues to be the Chairman of the National Selection Committee

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced on Friday (4) the appointment of the following members to the seven-member new panel of the National Selection Committee. The names have been ratified by the Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports Namal Rajapaksa.

The panel consists Ashantha De Mel (Chairman), Chaminda Mendis, Pramodya Wickramasinghe, Ranjith Madurusinghe, (Ms.) Nilmini Gunarathne, Hemantha Devapriya, and Uvais Karnain.

De Mel headed the previous committee as well while Mendis too was one of its members. The third member of the previous panel, Vinothen John, has been omitted.

The same panel is to make the selections for the Sri Lanka Women’s as well as the boys’ Under-19 team.

The naming of the National Selection Committee had been delayed unexpectedly since mid August this year as the names nominated by SLC took time to get the needed ministerial ratification, it was reported.

Under the present Govt., voted in early this year, the National Sports Selection Committee and the National Sports Council, both being headed by Lt. Gen. Shavendra Silva, are having the final authority on selection committees, squads, and teams before the Sports Minister giving the final ratification.