Prez appoints committee to study development of ECT and JCT of Colombo Port

President Gotabaya Rajapaksa has appointed a five-member committee to study development of Colombo Port’s Jaya Container Terminal (JCT) & East Container Terminal (ECT), the President’s Media Division said.

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa announced on Wednesday that a final decision had not been taken to hand over ECT to India.

The UNP faction of the Yahapalanaya government made continuous attempts to operate the East Container Terminal, as a joint venture between Sri Lanka, Japan, and India.

However, upon the intervention of then President Maithripala Sirisena, the decision was suspended, and it was decided that the development of the terminal will take place under the Sri Lanka Ports Authority (SLPA).