‘Refocusing of Community Policing Committees’ programme to be implemented in 9 districts

By Tharindu Chaturanga

The ‘Refocusing of Community Policing Committees (CPC) to promote National Unity and Reconciliation Dialogue’ programme will be implemented in the Anuradhapura, Kurunegala, Kandy, Ratnapura, Matara, Gampaha, Badulla, Kalutara, and Galle districts by Police and the Secretariat for Coordinating Reconciliation Mechanisms (SCRM) jointly to promote national unity.

A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for this programme was signed by the Inspector General of Police (IGP) Pujith Jaysundara and the Secretary General of SCRM Mano Thiththawella recently.

A total of Rs. 52 million has been allocated to implement this project. It aims to create a platform through the CPC to communicate and receive information about the reconciliation agenda of the Government and to start grassroots national unity, co-existence, and reconciliation dialogues to ensure communal and religious harmony.

The MoU is expected to build a team of peacemakers at the divisional secretariat level to promote national unity, reconciliation, and coexistence dialogues.