SC grants leave to proceed with FR petitions against Pujith, Hemasiri

The Supreme Court’s seven-judge bench has granted leave to proceed with the 12 Fundamental Rights (FR) petitions filed against IGP Pujith Jayasundara and former Defence Secretary Hemasiri Fernando over the Easter Sunday terror attacks.

The judge bench comprised of Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya , Justices Buwaneka Aluwihare, Sisira de Abrew, Priyantha Jayewardene, Prasanna Jayewardene, L.T.B. Dehideniya and Murdu Fernando.

The 12 FR petitions were filed against the IGP and the former Defence Secretary for allegedly failing to prevent the coordinated terror attacks that claimed the lives of hundreds on the 21st of April this year.