SJB MPs request action against members who voted for 20A

28 Samagi Jana Balawegaya MPs today (23) submitted a signed letter to the Secretary General of the SJB Ranjith Maddumabandara requesting action taken against members who voted in favour of 20A.

“As we have agreed as a party to oppose the 20th Amendment in order to protect the democracy of the country, we should stand by that decision, and action should be taken against all those who opposed the decision in Parliament yesterday (22),” the letter stated.

The letter requested the Secretary General for the removal of those SJB members who voted in support of the 20th Amendment, betraying the party’s principles.