SLC T20 League – Dambulla record second win

It was the second back-to-back victory for Dambulla, in spite of the absence of their regular skipper Thisara Perera, in the last game of the Colombo leg of the 2018 SLC T20 League, played under lights against Galle, on Wednesday, 22 August at the R. Premadasa International Stadium, Colombo.

Dambulla’s middle-order batsman Ashan Priyanjan continued his remarkable form scoring 57 runs, with six fours and a six. He shared a quick-fire 101-run stand for the third wicket with Sadeera Samarawickrama who made a 37-ball 48 which contained seven fours.

Priyanjan whacked 108 in 52 balls, guiding them to win, in their opening match on Tuesday against Team Kandy.

Thisara Perera has been rested for the match due to a problem in his knee, SLC sources said on Thursday, 23 August.

Dambulla’s stand-in skipper Isuru Udana brought in finishing touches to the Galle innings with an 11-ball 25 which included four fours and one six.

Dambulla’s right-arm off-spinner Danushka Gunathilaka put the Galle reply in complete disarray when he sent back their top-order –Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Angelo Perera and Asela Gunaratne– to send them reeling at 53/5 in their 10th over.  Gunathilaka ended up with four for 21 in his four overs.

Galle were bowled out for 84 in 17.5 overs giving Dambulla a massive 95-run victory.

Team Galle were firm favourites for the title of the tournament having a strong bating line-up consisting Dimuth Karunaratne, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Perera and Asela Gunaratne in its ranks.

They also emerged victorious in the SLC domestic four-dayer as well as its 50-over one-day tournament this year.

The four-team tournament will see three rounds taking place in Colombo, Dambulla and Kandy before the September 2 final, to be played between the two table-topping sides of the league phase under lights at R. Premadasa.

The Dambulla leg of the tournament will be held on August 25 and 26 at the Rangiri Dambulla International Stadium and the third and final leg will be at Pallekele International Stadium in Kandy on August 29 and 30.

There will be double-headers on each day of this T20 League, one game starting at 2 p.m. and the other fixed for a 7 p.m. start under lights.

Public are allowed to enter free of charge for all games.

The four skippers of the teams are Dinesh Chandimal (Team Colombo), Thisara Perera (Dambulla), Suranga Lakmal (Galle) and Angelo Mathews (Kandy).


Game 4 –

Dambulla beat Galle by 95 runs:

Dambulla (won the toss) 179/6 in 20 overs (Ashan Priyanjan 57 in 41 balls, Sadeera Samarawickrama 48 in 37 balls; Hasitha Boyagoda 29 n.o. in 17 balls; Dhananjaya De Silva 2/11, Kasun Rajitha 2/47)

Galle 84 all out in 17.5 overs (Dimuth Karunaratne 17 in 22 balls, Dhananjaya De Silva 13 in 11 balls; Danushka Gunathilaka 4/21, Wanindu Hasaranga 3/11)

* The above picture shows Ashan Priyanjan celebrating his half-century on Wednesday, August 22.