SL U-19 top Group ‘B’ in Asia Cup, meet Afghanistan in semis

Unbeaten Sri Lanka Under-19 and another unbeaten side in the tournament so far, India U-19, advanced to the semi-finals on Tuesday, 2 October with their third successive win of the Under-19 Asia Cup now being held at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong, Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka U-19 beat Pakistan U-19 by 23 runs in their last match of the first-round in Asia Cup Group ‘B’.

Pakistan U-19 won the toss and elected to field. Sri Lanka were bowled out for 200 runs in 49.4 overs. Middle-order batsman Kalana Perera scored 51 in 61 balls with four boundaries and three sixes. Skipper Nipun Dhananjaya scored 33 runs and opener Navod Paranavithana scored 26. Nipun Malinga (23), Nishan Mathushka (19) and Nuwanidu Fernando (16) chipped in with valuable contributions.

Arshad Iqbal, the right-arm medium paceman, took six wickets for 34 runs. Bilal Javed took two wickets.

Chasing the target Pakistan U-19 scored only 177 runs for the loss of eight wickets in 50 overs. Awaiz Zafar scored 43 runs. Arshad Iqbal (26 n.o.), Waqar Ahmad (24), Jahanzaib Sultan (22) and Saad Khan (22) helped build their innings.

Arshad Iqbal of Pakistan was the Man of the Match for his brilliant all-round performance.


Sri Lanka, with three wins out of three, thus topped the table of Group ‘B’ while Bangladesh were the second with two wins out of three. Pakistan and Hong Kong could not make it to the semis.

India and Afghanistan were through to the semi-finals from Group ‘A’ while Nepal and UAE failed to do so.

On Thursday, 4 October India are to meet Bangladesh in the first semi-finals before Si Lanka meet the Afghans at the same venue in the second semi, on Friday.

Sunday, 7 October is the final.

Brief Scores:

Sri Lanka Under-19 200 in 49.4 overs (Kalana Perera 51, Nipun Dananjaya 33, Navod Paranavithana 26, Nipun Malinga 23, Nishan Mathushka 19, Nuwanidu Fernando 16; Arshad Iqbal 6-34, Bilal Javed 2-25)

Pakistan Under-19 177-8 in 50 overs (Awaiz Zafar 43, Waqar Ahmad 24, Jahanzaib Sultan 22, Saad Khan 22, Arshad Iqbal 26 n.o.; Navod Paranavithana 2-27, Dunith Wellalage 2-28, Kalhara Senarathna 2-32).