Sri Lanka continue victorious run at Asian Netball

A stiff final-quarter resistance from Malaysia was seen off by the mighty Lankan lasses as they recorded their fourth consecutive victory at the 11th Asian Netball Championship, now being held at the OCBC Arena, Singapore.

Sri Lanka is coached by Thilaka Jinadasa of the Sri Lanka Netball Federation. Sri Lanka played practice matches in Malawi before their Asia Cup campaign, which boosted their morale to top level. Nalaka Hewamadduma trained the Lankan team on psychological aspects of the game.

Jinada said before their departure to Singapore that their preparations have been extremely satisfactory and, due to their improved physical fitness level, they were going to give a good run in the Championship this time. Sri Lanka were the runners-up last time when the Championship was held in Thailand, in 2016.

2018 Asian Netball Championship


Preliminary Round


Group A Group B Group C Group D
Malaysia Sri Lanka Singapore Hong Kong
Japan Chinese Taipei Brunei Thailand
Maldives India Pakistan Philippines

Results of SL so far:

Group Stage –

1 September – SL beat Chinese Taipei 137-5

2 September – SL beat India 101-29

2nd Round Groups (Group E consists of leading teams)


Group E Group F Group G
A1: Malaysia A2: Japan A3: Maldives
B1: Sri Lanka B2: India B3: Chinese Taipei
C1: Singapore C2: Brunei C3: Pakistan
D1: Hong Kong D2: Thailand D3: Philippines

2nd round –

4 September – SL beat Singapore 74-61

5 September – SL beat Malaysia 62-59

Thursday, 6 September Schedule –

SL vs. Hong Kong at 5 p.m. Singapore time (2.30 p.m. SL time)

Semi-finals –

Saturday, 8 September –

12.30 p.m. SL time – 1st of Group ‘E’ vs. 4th of Group ‘E’

2.30 p.m. SL time – 2nd of Group ‘E’ vs. 3rd of Group ‘E’

Final –

Sunday, 9 September –

At 1.30 p.m. SL time

3 p.m. SL time – Closing Ceremony

History of Netball Asiad & SL’s dominance –

* This is the 11th edition of the Asian Netball Championship which is now held every two years.

* It was inaugurated in 1985 in Malaysia. Until 2009, it was held every four years and since then it has been mostly held every two years.

* The top team in Asia is Sri Lanka, having won the Asian Netball Championships four times; 1989 in India, 1997 in Singapore, 2001 in Colombo and 2009 in Malaysia. They have been the runner-up four times, in 1985, 2012, 2014 and 2016. Sri Lanka has finished among top three in all ten occasions the Championship has been held.

* Singapore has won the title three times and are the reigning Asian netball champions.

* The fifth Asian Netball Championships was held in Colombo, Sri Lanka in 2001. The final was won by one goal, by Sri Lanka over Singapore. Sri Lanka hosted the Championship in 2012 too and became runner-up to Singapore that time.

Asian Netball Championship Results So Far: 

Year 1st 2nd 3rd Venue Number of teams
1985  Malaysia  Sri Lanka  Singapore Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 5
1989  Sri Lanka  Singapore  Malaysia New Delhi, India 4
1993  Hong Kong  Singapore  Sri Lanka Hong Kong 5
1997  Sri Lanka  Malaysia  Singapore Singapore 5
2001  Sri Lanka  Singapore  Malaysia Colombo, Sri Lanka 8
2005  Singapore  Malaysia  Sri Lanka Toa Payoh Sports Hall, Singapore 7
2009  Sri Lanka  Singapore  Malaysia Juara Stadium, Bukit Kiara, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia 9
2012  Singapore  Sri Lanka  Malaysia Sugathadasa Indoor Stadium, Colombo, Sri Lanka 10
2014  Singapore  Sri Lanka  Malaysia Singapore Sports Hub OCBC Arena, Singapore 10
2016  Malaysia  Sri Lanka  Singapore Thailand 9

* The photo shows Sri Lanka captain Tharjini Sivalingam