Term of Prez Commission of Inquiry extended

The term of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry to investigate corruption and malpractice in the state sector under the ‘Yahapalana’ Government has been extended.

The Commission which was due to expire on July 18 has been extended by a further three months by President Maithripala Sirisena.

The service extension had been granted upon a request made by the members of the Commission.

The five-member Commission headed by retired High Court Judge Upali Abeyratne was appointed by the President on 17 January.

Members of the Commission include retired High Court Judge Sarojini Kusala Weerawardena, retired Auditor General P.A. Pemathilaka, former Ministry Secretary Lalith R. de Silva and former DIG M. K. D. Wijaya Amarasinghe.