Sports News


STC winning D.S. Senanayake Challenge Shield after 11 long years

Photo by Pradeep Dambarage

S. Thomas’ College won the 140th Battle of the Blues Big Match against arch rivals Royal College, Colombo, on Saturday, 9 March, by seven wickets. Set a target of 121 runs to win in 38 overs, on the third and final day yesterday, S. Thomas’ were home for the loss of just three wickets in 20 overs.
Thus they won the D.S. Senanayake Memorial Shield after 11 years with the last victory being recorded in 2007 when T.A.M. Peiris guided the Thomians to a win by an innings and 44 runs.
Thomian pacie, SL U-19 cap Kalana Perera, who had a match-haul of 9/156 to add to his decisive 62 runs with the bat in the Thomian first innings, was adjudged the Player of the Match.

Toss: Royal won the toss and chose to bat first
Royal first innings 158 all out in 48.3 overs
(Kamil Mishara 36, Kavindu Pathirathne 35, Kaushan Kulasooriya 28; Kalana Perera 6/54, Shannon Fernando 4/27)
S. Thomas’ first innings (Day 1 o/n 158/6 in 39 ovs.) 296 all out in 78.5 overs
(Kalana Perera 62, Umayanga Suwaris 62, Ryan Fernando 60, Yohan Perera 49, Shalin De Mel 21, Sithara Hapuhinna 14; Kamil Mishara 3/70, Kavindu Pathirathne 3/83, Gishan Balasooriya 2/66)
Royal second innings (Day 2 o/n 148/4 in 51 ovs.) 259 in 108.2 overs
(Pasindu Sooriyabandara 67, Kamil Mishara 34, Ahan Wickramasinghe 26, Kavindu Madarasinghe 25, Kavindu Pathirathne 24, Bhagya Dissanayake 21, Isiwara Dissanayake 20; Kalana Perera 3/102, Yohan Perera 2/15, Dellon Peiris 2/53)
S. Thomas’ second innings (target 121 in 38 overs) 124 for 3 wkts. in 20 overs
(Shalin De Mel 67 n.o., Sithara Hapuhinna 34, Ravindu De Silva 13 n.o.; Lahiru Madushanka 1/19, Kamil Mishara 1/22, Gihan Balasooriya 1/23)

Best Bowler – Kalana Perera (STC)
Best Fielder – Shalin De Mel (STC)
Best Batsman – Umayanga Suwaris (STC)
Player of the Match – Kalana Perera (STC – Match-haul of 9/156 and 62 runs in the first innings as No. 10 bat)
Dialog Trophy – S. Thomas’ College
D.S. Senanayake Challenge Shield – S. Thomas’ College