Villagers at cycling, at Bandaragama Karting Track!

As a gesture of goodwill and means to pay gratitude to the community of its vicinity, the Sri Lanka Karting Circuit (SLKC) at Bandaragama hosted a cycle race for the people of the Bandaragama area recently.

Cycling at the karting track at Bandaragama

The race was organised in collaboration with the Sri Lanka Cycling Federation.

A total of 52 riders from the six Grama Niladhari Divisions in Bandaragama participated, being eagerly cheered on by hundreds of fellow villagers.

SLKC Cycle Championship was conducted under four categories:

Men’s Open (for those who were 18 to 44 years of age), Women’s Open (16-44), Senior Men (45 and above) and Junior Boys (12-17).

The main event, the Men’s Open, was held on the International Track (distance of approximately 1,200 m) and Women’s Open, Senior Men’s and Junior Boys on the A+ Track (approximately 717 m).

Men’s open event comprised 10 laps while the other categories were conducted over five laps.

Lakshika Sandamali wins in Women’s Open –

Women’s Open champion Lakshika Sandamali, on left, receives her award from Mrs. Esther Pieris

In the Senior Men’s event, the winner Sarath Fernando from the Walgama area took the lead from the start and maintained that until the end, ensuring a one-round lead from the third lap onward.

The winner of Women’s Open, Lakshika Sandamali, also from Walgama, was a close second for the first one-and-half laps and then took the lead to cross the finish-line as the winner.

Nethruwan Fernando of Walgama, the winner of the Junior Boys category, also maintained first place from start to finish.

The most competitive event was Men’s Open which had the spectators on their feet. Kusum Wijesiri Aponso of Aluthgama won the first place breaking away from pack after fighting closely with the others, for many laps.

SLKC in Bandaragama, only third in Asia –

Sarath Fernando, on left, receives his award from Chairman, David Pieris Group of Companies, David Pieris

The Sri Lanka Karting Circuit, Bandaragama is the only go-kart track in Sri Lanka built to international standard.

It spreads over a 22-acre property.  It is one of only three kart tracks available in the whole of Asia. The venue has been homogenised by the sport’s governing body, Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA). The Bandaragama Karting Circuit is managed by David Pieris Racing & Leisure (Private) Limited.

The SLKC Cycle Championship 2018 was also attended by the Chairman of David Pieris Group of Companies, David Pieris, Managing Director of David Pieris Motor Company (Private) Limited Rohana Dissanayake, Director (Parts & Accessories), Jayantha Ratnayake, Managing Director of David Pieris Racing & Leisure (Private) Limited Dinesh Jayasundera, Director – DPRL Ms. Uthpala Dissanayake and many representatives from the David Pieris Group.


Winners of Men’s Open

Men’s Open –

1st Place: Kusum Wijesiri Aponso from Aluthgama (time of 22.54.145)

2nd Place: Wanshanath Fernando, Medagama (22.55.197)

3rd Place: Priyankara Perera, Walgama (23.42.197)

Women’s Open champions

Women’s Open –

1st Place: Lakshika Sandamali, Walgama (7.54.353)

2nd Place: Sewwandi Perera, Medagama (8.16.205)

3rd Place: Anupama Perera, Medagama (8.17.213)

Veteran Men’s winners

Senior Men –

1st Place: Sarath Fernando, Walgama (6.28.230)

2nd Place: Ananda Pushpakumara, Walgama (7.08.302)

3rd Place: Gamini Perera, Walgama (7.23.666)

Junior Boys’ winners

Junior Boys –

1st Place: Nethruwan Fernando, Walgama (6.08.918)

2nd Place: Janith Maduwaththa, Walgama (6.26.551)

3rd Place: Pramuditha Lakshan, Walgama (6.27.772).