Welfare programmes to be executed through 5 key institutions

The Presidential Task Force on Economic Revival and Poverty Eradication is to execute welfare programmes at local council level through five key institutions.
Head of the Task Force, former Minister Basil Rajapaksa said that all welfare programs initiated at National level will be linked through these institutions at local level.
Rajapaksa expressed these views at a meeting of the Presidential Task Force on Economic Revival and Poverty Eradication at Temple Trees yesterday.

He said the programmes will operate through five centres namely the Govijana Seva Centres, Provincial Councils,  Cooperatives (for Essential items distribution/retail and wholesale), Economic Centres and Samurdhi (to ensure livelihoods), and Divisional Secretariats (for  government services).