197 new police stations to be established: Sarath Weerasekara

In an effort to ease the process of lodging public complaints, Minister of Public Security, Rear Admiral Sarath Weerasekara stated that 197 new police stations will be set up across the country.

The Minister made these statements on Friday (18) during a media briefing on the Easter Sunday Attacks held at the Department of Government Information.

Accordingly, 57 police stations have already been established under this initiative and necessary action will be taken to establish the remaining police stations as soon as possible.