brand logo

5 member committee appointed to probe cause of Mahara Prison unrest

2 years ago

Share on

Minister of Justice Ali Sabry has introduced a 5-member committee to probe the origins and causes of the Mahara Prison unrest that occured yesterday (29) evening, stated Secretary of the Justice Ministry M. M. P. K. Mayadunne. Accordingly, Retired Head of High Court Kusala Sarojini Weerawardana has been appointed the Chairman of the committee, while other members include Chief Advisor of the Ministry of Justice Attorney at Law U. R. De Silva, Additional Secretary (Planning) of the Ministry of Justice Rohana Hapugaswatta, DIG Ajith Rohana and former Commissioner of the Mahara Prison Gamini Jayasinghe. Additional Secretary to the State Ministry of Prison Reforms and Rehabilitation Nishan Dhanasinghe has been appointed Secretary of the committee.

You may also like