brand logo

Senior Army Officers for 25 districts to coordinate COVID-19 control work

2 years ago

Share on

The Presidential Secretariat has appointed 25 Senior Army Officers for all districts to enhance island-wide coordination for COVID-19 control work effective from 01 January 2021, the Army said today. The appointments have been made on the recommendation of General Shavendra Silva, Chief of Defence Staff, Commander of the Army and Head of the National Operations Centre for Prevention of COVID -19 Outbreak (NOCPCO). General Silva awarded the selected officers the letters of appointment this morning. Accordingly, the new office of those Chief Coordinating Officers would facilitate smooth conduct of district-wise Quarantine Centres, Transportation of Individuals for Quarantining and Treatment, Supply of Medicine, Equipment, Dry-rations and other Essentials and all other technical requirements as and when deemed necessary. The Senior Army Officers who have been appointed as Chief Coordinators in 25 districts are; Northern Province 1. Major General W G H A S Bandara - Jaffna 2. Major General K N S Kotuwegoda - Kilinochchi 3. Major General R M P J Rathnayaka - Mullaitivu 4. Major General W L P W Perera - Vavuniya 5. Major General A A I J Bandara - Mannar North Central Province 6. Major General J C Gamage - Polonnaruwa 7. Major General H L V M Liyanage - Anuradhapura North Western Province 8. Major General A P I Fernando - Puttalam 9. Brigadier P M R H S K Herath - Kurunegala Western Province 10. Major General K W R de Abrew - Colombo 11. Major General N R Lamahewage - Gampaha 12. Brigadier K N D Karunapala - Kalutara Central Province 13. Major General H P N K Jayapathirane - Nuwara Eliya 14. Major General S M S P B Samarakoon - Kandy 15. Major General S U M N Manage - Matale Sabarammuwa Province 16. Brigadier J M R N K Jayamanna - Ratnapura 17. Brigadier L A J L B Udowita - Kegalle Eastern Province 18. Major General C D Weerasuriya - Trincomalee 19. Major General T D Weerakoon - Ampara 20. Major General C D Ranasinghe - Batticaloa Uva Province 21. Brigadier E A P Ediriweera - Badulla 22. Colonel D U N Serasinghe - Monaragala Southern Province 23. Major General D M H D Bandara - Hambantota 24. Major General W A S S Wanasinghe - Galle 25. Colonel K A U Kodituwakku - Matara

You may also like