brand logo

RW’s name gazetted as UNP’s only National List MP

2 years ago

Share on

United National Party (UNP) leader Ranil Wickremesinghe’s name was gazetted by the Election Commission as the party’s one and only National List Member of Parliament yesterday (18). The extraordinary gazette notification was published by the Chairman of the Election Commission Nimal G. Punchihewa and the members of the election body, S.B. Divaratne, M.M. Mohamed, K.P.P. Pathirana and Jeevan Thiagarajah. Last month, the Working Committee of the UNP unanimously decided to appoint the former prime minister to the party’s National List seat in parliament. The UNP later informed the Election Commission regarding the appointment to their National List MP seat. Accordingly, a letter informing of the UNP’s decision to name the former prime minister to occupy the vacant National List MP seat was handed over to the election body two days ago.

You may also like