brand logo

Parliament Secretary General acknowledges Rathana’s expulsion from OPPP

a year ago

Share on

By Dinitha Rathnayake The Ape Jana Bala Party/Our Power of People Party (OPPP) has received an acknowledgement letter from Parliament Secretary General Dhammika Dasanayake over its expulsion of OPPP Parliamentarian Ven. Athuraliye Rathana Thera. Speaking to The Morning, OPPP National Organiser Dr. Susantha Kodithuwakku said that the party had informed Dasanayake about its expulsion of Ven. Rathana Thera, and that Dasanayake should in turn inform the Election Commission (EC) about this decision. EC Chairman Nimal G. Punchihewa said that according to the law, the Parliamentary Secretary General is required to wait for a month to inform this to the EC, in case there are any objections related to the matter. The OPPP has considered a few names after expelling Ven. Rathana Thera from the party. Dr. Kodithuwakku said that the OPPP’s Political Bureau and Central Committee have decided to expel MP Ven. Rathana Thera from the party on 14 October. “We are considering a few names to nominate for the Parliament seat, including Bodu Bala Sena General Secretary Ven. Galagodaaththe Gnanasara Thera. However, all names are under discussion,” he said. The party Secretary has also informed the EC about the decision to expel Ven. Rathana Thera. The decision was taken after the party’s Disciplinary Committee found Ven. Rathana Thera guilty of four charges and therefore recommended his expulsion from the party. Ven. Rathana Thera was sworn in as a National List Member of Parliament (MP) of the OPPP on 5 January. He was sworn in as a MP for the fourth time, and was allotted a front-row seat for members of the Opposition.