brand logo

President declines Sabry’s resignation

a year ago

Share on

  • Sabry submits letter resigning from party, seat, and portfolio
Justice Minister Ali Sabry submitted his letter of resignation, from his membership in the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP), his parliamentary seat, and the justice portfolio, to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa last Friday (5), The Sunday Morning reliably learnt.  The President had, however, refused to accept the resignation letter. Highly placed sources told The Sunday Morning that the Justice Minister had taken his resignation letter to the President, but that the President refused to accept it.  It is reliably learnt that during the lengthy discussion that followed, Sabry had explained to the President the concerns and displeasure expressed by members of the legal fraternity over the appointment of a Presidential Task Force (PTF) on “one country, one law” headed by the rabble-rousing Bodu Bala Sena (BBS) General Secretary Ven. Galabodaaththe Gnanasara Thera.  Sabry had also observed that minority communities had also expressed concerns over the composition of the PTF headed by Ven. Gnanasara Thera. The President had explained that the PTF was formed to present a concept on “one country, one law” and not to formulate laws, noting that the formulation of the laws will be vested with the Justice Ministry. However, the President had acknowledged that there were certain errors in the wording used in the gazette announcing the appointment of the PTF. President Rajapaksa had told Minister Sabry that the PTF was never aimed at slighting the good work Sabry had initiated to bring about legal reforms.