brand logo

Singapore launches vaccinated travel lanes with Sri Lanka & several other nations

a year ago

Share on

Singapore will extend vaccinated travel lanes (VTLs) to six more countries next month, the Civil Aviation Authority of Singapore (CAAS) announced on Friday (Nov 26), Channel News Asia reports. From Dec 14, travellers from Thailand may enter Singapore under the quarantine-free VTL. Travellers from Cambodia, Fiji, Maldives, Sri Lanka and Turkey can do so from Dec 16. This latest move will increase the number of countries with which Singapore has VTL arrangements to 27. Before the COVID-19 pandemic, these 27 countries contributed to about 60 per cent of the total daily arrivals at Changi Airport, said CAAS. "This latest extension will further broaden Changi’s network and help reclaim and rebuild Singapore's status as an international aviation hub with global connectivity," said the authority. Under the VTL scheme, fully vaccinated travellers on designated VTL flights can enter Singapore without undergoing quarantine. They are only required to undergo COVID-19 testing.  "The expansion of the VTL scheme to these countries will continue to restore two-way quarantine-free travel between Singapore and VTL countries whose borders are now open to us," said CAAS. Source: Channel News Asia

You may also like