brand logo

SJB National List controversy: Clash over parliamentary slots

3 years ago

Share on

By Skandha Gunasekara The Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) is yet to decide on whom to send to Parliament through their National List, as a large number of members are vying for parliamentary slots through the list, The Morning learnt. SJB General Secretary Ranjith Madduma Bandara said that the list is yet to be finalised. “We are still in discussion on whom to select to enter Parliament through the National List. There are many candidates, so we are still deliberating.” He said that only his name has been confirmed to enter through the National List. “Only I have been selected as the first to enter through the National List by our Party Leader Sajith Premadasa.” Meanwhile, recently elected SJB parliamentarian Dr. Harsha de Silva, while refusing to comment on the party’s indecisiveness, noted that the Party Leader and Madduma Bandara were in charge of selection. “I don’t want to comment right now as no final decision on the list has been made. All I know is that Sajith Premadasa and Ranjith Madduma Bandara are the ones making these decisions,” he said, adding that Madduma Bandara was the only individual with a shoe in for the National List.

You may also like