brand logo

Three parties to support SLPP in forming a two-thirds majority

3 years ago

Share on

TMVP, EPDP, and NCSL to join SLPP in Parliament  By Maheesha Mudugamuwa Three political parties which contested the freshly concluded parliamentary election separately will be joining the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) to form a two-thirds majority in the new Parliament scheduled to meet next week, SLPP Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam said. He told The Morning that Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan’s (alias Pillaiyan) Tamil Makkal Viduthalai Pulikal (TMVP), Douglas Devananda’s Eelam People’s Democratic Party (EPDP), and A.L.M. Athaullah’s National Congress Sri Lanka (NCSL) have already come to an understanding with the SLPP and will be joining them in Parliament to form the two-thirds majority. In addition, the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) had obtained one additional seat from Jaffna which will also join the SLPP, he explained. SLPP obtained 145 seats in Parliament, while SLFP, TMVP, and All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC) obtained one seat each and EPDP secured two seats.  

You may also like