brand logo

Inaugural Parliament session | Elected MPs invited for sessions

2 years ago

Share on

Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake has informed all Members of Parliament (MPs) to attend the first sitting of the ninth Parliament, which is scheduled to commence at 9.30 a.m. on Thursday (20).
The Secretary General has extended this invitation through a letter to the newly elected MPs. This letter has been sent to 223 MPs, whose names have been gazetted by the Chairman of the Election Commission (EC). The letter from the Secretary General of Parliament has stated that the appointment of the Speaker, Deputy Speaker, and Deputy Chairperson of Committees, in accordance with Standing Order No. 1 of Parliament, and the official oath or affirmation of all new MPs will take place on the same day.