brand logo

Appointments made to 9th Parliament

2 years ago

Share on

By Skandha Gunasekara
Key appointments to Parliament were made yesterday (20), including the appointment of the Speaker of the House. Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Parliamentarian Mahinda Yapa Abeywardana, whose name was proposed by the Leader of the House Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawadena and seconded by Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Ranjith Madduma Bandara, became the Speaker of the ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka. In addition, MP Ranjith Siyambalapitiya's name was put forward by Minister of Environment Mahinda Amaraweera for the post of Deputy Speaker of Parliament while MP Nimal Lanzsa seconded it. MP Angajan Ramanathan’s name was proposed for the post of Deputy Chairman of Committeees by Minister of Labour Nimal Siripala de Silva and seconded by Minister of Irrigation Duminda Dissanayake. The newly apppointed Speaker recognised Minister Dinesh Gunawardena as the Leader of the House, Minister of Highways Johnston Fernando as the Chief Government Whip, and SJB MP Sajith Premadasa as the Leader of the Opposition.

You may also like