brand logo

Committee chaired by former HC judge| Probe on four state banks 

3 years ago

Share on

A committee has been appointed to investigate the alleged irregularities that occurred in four state banks during the past five years, according to the Ministry of Finance. The committee is chaired by former High Court (HC) Judge Sisira Rathnayake, and comprises a representative from the Finance Ministry acting as the Secretary, Chartered Accountant Susantha de Silva, and (Retd.) Additional Auditor General W. Premananda. The committee was appointed to investigate the irregularities and malpractices that may have occurred since 8 January 2015 in Bank of Ceylon, People’s Bank, National Savings Bank, Regional Development Bank, and affiliated institutions. The committee will also present recommendations on legal, financial, and administrative measures required to ensure such malpractices do not occur in the future, as well as recommendations on offering an improved service through the state banking system, the statement issued by the Ministry of Finance stated.  

You may also like