Central Bank, Treasury, commercial banks and Insurance added to essential services

The Central Bank of Sri Lanka(CBSL), commercial banks, Insurance companies and the treasury have been declared as ‘essential services’ by President Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Secretary to the President Dr. P. B. Jayasundara has written to the CBSL Governor W D Lakshman on this regard, and has requested that that the CBSL, branches of commercial banks, branches of insurance companies and the treasure be kept open, with minimum staff, to provide service to the public during curfew hours.

Public is requested to only visit these institutions for very urgent matters & to follow health guidelines at all times.

Health, police, goods distribution, customs, electricity, water, fuel supply are other service under the ‘essential services category’.