Civil society members appointed to CC

Parliament has approved the civil society nominees for the Constitutional Council.

Dr. Jayantha Dhanapala, Javid Yusuf and N. Selvakumar have been appointed to the Constitutional Council as the civil society representatives.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya told Parliament that he has received nominations for the remaining members for the Constitutional Council.

He said that the Constitutional Council will meet this week to pick a new Chief Justice.