Dr. Jayaruwan mulls legal action against GMOA

  • Dr. Navin De Zoysa and Dr. Haritha Aluthge missing from new committee

By Dinitha Rathnayake


Former Health Ministry Spokesman Dr. Jayaruwan Bandara, whose nomination for the post of President of the Government Medical Officers’ Association (GMOA) was rejected by its Election Committee last week, is contemplating taking legal action against the rejection.

Speaking to The Morning, Dr Bandara said he is scheduled to hold a meeting today (7) with his legal consultants to decide on whether or not to resort to legal action.

He added that the rejection took place due to a few errors in the nomination form.

“According to the Election Committee, the GMOA registration number I mentioned was wrong, and the nominee’s name and the registration number were also wrong. I made an appeal against it and the Election Committee accepted my appeal,” he added.

However, since the acceptance of the appeal, the GMOA’s Election Committee had not responded to his appeal.

The Morning also learnt from reliable sources that 10-time GMOA President Dr Anuruddha Padeniya has already handed over his nomination for the presidency. He was re-elected as President of the GMOA at its annual general meeting (AGM) held last year for the 10th consecutive year.

Meanwhile, Assistant Secretary Dr. Navin De Zoysa and GMOA Executive Committee Member of the GMOA Dr. Haritha Aluthge will not be taking part in this election due to personal reasons.

Speaking to The Morning, Dr Navin De Zoysa explained the reasons for his and Dr. Aluthge’s absence.

“We have been working for the GMOA for the last 10 years. We will be in the team in the future as well. But both me and Haritha took the decision to give a chance to the newcomers, so we did not hand over our nominations.”

He also dismissed speculations that their absence was due to internal problems between them and the rest of the GMOA, saying they all work as a team at present and will continue to do so.

The GMOA is the only union that runs a presidential election every year where they select a new president and nine new executive members for their Association.