Sports News

FIFA Asian Qualifiers 2022: Sri Lanka face Korea challenge today


Tottenham Hotspur player Son Heung-min, a star in South Korea team. Sri Lanka lost to Korea 8-0 last time they met in the Asian Qualifiers in October 2019



* Kick off at 4.30 p.m.

* Charith Rathnayake to miss out game due to suspension

* Sri Lanka’s final game in FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifiers






By Ranjika Perera


9 June (Tuesday):

* Asian Qualifiers for FIFA World Cup 2022 –

Sri Lanka vs. South Korea – from 4.30 p.m.

(Live on TV1 or http://www.footballsrilanka.tcv/live)

10 June (Wednesday):

* Euro 2020 Friendlies –

Portugal vs. Israel – from 12.15 a.m.

(Live on Sony Sports Network)

Table toppers South Korea will be eying to finish the qualifiers on a high. Tottenham Hotspur player Son Heung-min scored two goals in the first leg against Sri Lanka.

It will be another tough outing for the lions and they will heavily rely on their Skipper Sujan Perera to be alert between the sticks. The Lankans will also be missing the services of Charitha Rathnayake who received his second yellow card in the previous game.

Previous match

The Lankans almost pulled off a surprise win over Lebanon during the weekend. They were leading early on but eventually went on to lose the game by 3-2.

Wazeem Razeek’s ninth minute goal on the counter put Sri Lanka ahead but three quick goals in response from the Lebanese quickly shifted the momentum in their favour. The game was dominated by Lebanon.

Skipper Sujan Perera played a massive role guarding the goal throughout the game. Razeek scored his second through a spot kick in the second half and he hit the poles once through a free kick, but unfortunately Sri Lanka couldn’t earn a draw.

Sri Lanka squad:

Sujan Perera (Captain), Kavindu Ishan (Co-Vice Captain), Ahamed Waseem Razeek (Co-Vice Captain), Mohamed Fazal, Duckson Puslas, Dillon De Silva, Reef Sebastian Peries, Marvin Hamilton, Chalana Chameera, Harsha Fernando, Asikoor Rahuman, Mohamed Aakib, Jude Suman, Sunil Roshan, Prabath Ruwan Arunasiri, Danushka Rajapaksha, Chamod Dilshan, Mohamed Hasmeer, Mohamed Musthaq, Chathuranga Madushan, Supun Dananjaya, Mohommad Rifkhan, and Charitha Rathnayake