Sports News





At least one major global cricket competition every year from this year. ICC will be a really busy place from now


* Sri Lanka to co-host 2026 T20 World Cup

* Up to 2031, there is one global event every year

* USA to co-host 2024 T20 World Cup with West Indies

*The 2025 Champions Trophy goes to Pakistan





Key: Dates / Competition Name / Host or hosts

June 2024 / 9th T20 World Cup / West Indies & USA

February 2025 / 9th Champions Trophy / Pakistan

February 2026 / 10th T20 World Cup / India & Sri Lanka

Oct.-Nov. 2027 / 14th Cricket World Cup / South Africa, Zimbabwe, & Namibia

October 2028 / 11th T20 World Cup / Australia & New Zealand

October 2029/ 10th Champions Trophy / India

June 2030 / 12th T20 World Cup / England, Ireland, & Scotland

Oct./Nov. 2031 / 15th Cricket World Cup / India & Bangladesh

Note: The 8th T20 World Cup will be held in 2022 in Australia and the 13th Cricket World Cup will be held in India in 2023 before the 2024-31 new ICC events cycle begins

By Revatha S. Silva

As the host nations for every major men’s limited-overs event between 2024 and 2031 were confirmed and announced by the International Cricket Council (ICC) yesterday (16), Sri Lanka was announced as the co-host of the tenth T20 World Cup, along with India, for the year 2026.

Following the just-finished seventh edition of the World Cup of cricket’s less-than-two-decades-old ‘bang-bang’ format, the T20s, in the United Arab Emirates (UAE), the ICC announced yesterday the hosts of its World Cup, T20 World Cup, as well as the Champions Trophy 50-over global competitions until 2031.

The eighth T20 World Cup is to be staged in Australia next year (see our Page 15 lead story to find out the Australian venues of the tournament) scheduled from 16 October to 13 November 2022.

With the T20 World Cup ended in Dubai last Sunday (14), the global cricket fraternity is entering into a rain of global competitions – at least one of them every year, for 11 years until 2031! Will too much action sour the plot?

U.S.A., Olympics, and ninth T20 World Cup

The ninth edition of the T20 World Cup in 2024 has been allocated for U.S.A. and West Indies. U.S.A. has joined as a co-host of the event, despite not being a Test-playing country, because the country will hold the 2028 Summer Olympics, which will likely to feature cricket after 128 years; since 1900 Paris Games.

As a result, the ninth T20 World Cup will be the first global tournament not hosted by either India, England, or Australia since the 2014 T20 World Cup was staged in Bangladesh. The ICC has been for a long time looking to give emerging countries the hosting rights for the mega events.

ICC statement

The 2024 T20 World Cup is expected to have 20 teams and 55 matches as compared to the 2021 and 2022 editions which have 16 teams playing 45 matches.

“In June 2024, the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will go somewhere it has never been before, with U.S.A. hosting the event alongside the West Indies, which staged the tournament in 2010,” ICC announced yesterday.

Namibia to co-host World Cup

Eight months later, in February 2025, Pakistan will host the Men’s Champions Trophy, which will return after 2017. It will be the first major global cricket tournament played in Pakistan since 1996 when it hosted the Men’s Cricket World Cup alongside India and Sri Lanka.

In 2026, India and Sri Lanka will host the Men’s T20 World Cup, before another first-time major event host in 2027.

In October-November 2027, Namibia will host the Men’s Cricket World Cup for the first time alongside Zimbabwe and South Africa. South Africa and Zimbabwe last staged the event in 2003.

India to host second World Cup in eight years

In October 2028 the T20 World Cup will be played in Australia and New Zealand and 12 months later India will host the Champions Trophy.

In 2030, England will share T20 World Cup hosting duties with Ireland and Scotland. It will be the first time since 1999 that Ireland and Scotland have hosted a major global cricket event.

The final scheduled event, in October/November 2031, will be the Men’s Cricket World Cup (50-over), played in India and Bangladesh. India, interestingly, will stage the next World Cup in 2023 too, meaning there will be two World Cups within eight years.

Every year, there’s global event

Will the spectator and fan interest on the game bound to dwindle as there will be a global cricket competition every year from this year onwards – from 2021 to 2031?

That too not including the fourth ICC global event, the World Test Championship, which is held amidst the other three events – the Cricket World Cup, T20 World Cup, and Champions Trophy – in a two-year cycle culminating in the championship final held every two years.

Making hay while the sun shines

The second World Test Championship cycle (2021-23) is now on and there is likely to be five Test Championship finals between now and 2031, that are to be staged amidst the eight limited-over tournaments announced yesterday.

Then comes the women’s versions of World Cup and T20 World Cup too into the scene.

Fundamentally, too much production is bound to affect the demand. ICC should know it better than anyone else. No doubt, this is the peak time, after long, when India in particular is engulfed to the hilt by the cricket fever. Is ICC going to make hay while the sun shines?


Is ICC making hay while the sun shines?