LOCAL SPORTS NEWS IN BRIEF: Ojha spoils the party for Sri Lanka Legends

India Legends lifted the second edition of the Road Safety World Series defeating Sri Lanka Legends by 33 runs in the final of the tournament played last Saturday (1) at Shaheed Veer Narayan Singh International Stadium, Raipur.

Indian Legends Skipper Sachin Tendulkar won the toss and opted to bat first. Nuwan Kulasekara opened the bowling and got Sri Lanka Legends off to a terrific start with the ball, removing Tendulkar and Suresh Raina inside the powerplay.

India then sent in Vinay Kumar at No. 4 as the pinch hitter and together with Naman Ojha, revived the innings with a 90-run partnership for the third wicket.

Sri Lankan bowlers managed to take a few wickets but Ojha pushed on and scored a brilliant century for India Legends. He remained unbeaten on 108 runs off 71 balls with 15 fours and two sixes. For Sri Lanka, Nuwan Kulasekara and Isuru Udana shared five wickets between them.

Sri Lanka got off to a horrid start, losing the first six wickets for 85 runs. However, Ishan Jayaratne and Mahela Udawatte fought back as they added 63 runs off 31 balls for the sixth wicket.

But both batters were dismissed in consecutive overs and Sri Lanka lost all hopes of salvaging the game.


Brief scores

India Legends 195/6 (20)
(Naman Ojha 108*, Vinay Kumar 36; Nuwan Kulasekara 3/29, Isuru Udana 2/34)

Sri Lanka Legends 162 (18.5)
(Ishan Jayaratne 51, Mahela Udawatte 26, Jeevan Mendis 20; Vinay Kumar 3/38, Abhimanyu Mithun 2/27)

India Legends won by 33 runs


HEAD 2 – 


Thomians take big lead at first leg of the Hayman Trophy 


  1. Thomas’ College took a massive lead of 23-10 in the first leg of the 29th Dr. R.L. Hayman Trophy water polo encounter which was held last Saturday (1) at the Sugathadasa Swimming Pool Complex.

Royal Skipper Umindu Katugampala scored the first goal of the game. Thomian Skipper Dirhean Dias responded immediately with their first goal. 

Three minutes into the game, Yasandu De Silva of Royal College scored the second goal but Aaqil Zuhair levelled it for the Thomians shortly afterwards. 

The Thomians took the lead for the first time in the fourth minute through Skipper Dias who made the score 3-2. However, just before the end of the first quarter Banuka Jayathilake of Royal College made it 3-3. 

After the break, Thomian Yuman Bollegala scored the fourth goal. The Thomians followed it up with two quick goals from Zuhair and Bollegala before Royal Skipper Katugampola added his second. 

Once again, the Thomians dominated the waters with two goals from Zuhair and Skipper Dias’ third goal, making it 9-4 in favour of the Thomians. After a couple more scores, the first half ended at 11-5 in favour of the Thomians. 

At the start of the third quarter, Thomian Bollegala scored the 12th goal while Dimeetri Liyanage responded with the sixth goal for Royal. 

Thomian Kurukulasuriya made it 13 for his team as Royal Skipper Udugampola earned a point to keep his team in the hunt. 

After a couple more goals from Zuhair and Bollegala, the third quarter of the game ended with the Thomians leading 16-9. 

Soon after the restart, Captain Dias scored the 17th goal for the Thomians. Zuhair turned the score 18 with five minutes remaining on the clock. Royal needed to respond but it was Zuhair who scored three back-to-back goals to make it 21-9 in favour of the boys from Mount Lavinia. 

Damsara Akmeemana of Royal College managed to cut the deficit with a late goal but shortly afterwards, Kurukulasuriya and Skipper Dias scored a goal each to make 23-10 before the final whistle.

The second leg of the 29th Dr. R.L. Hayman water polo match will be held next Saturday (8) at 5 p.m. at the Sugathadasa Swimming Pool Complex.