Sports News

LOCAL SPORTS NEWS IN BRIEF: SL Schools’ Boys’ Senior Hockey team released

The Sri Lanka Schools’ Boys’ Senior Hockey team has been named by the Sri Lanka School Hockey Association. This year’s team includes players from Gampaha, Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Badulla, and Matale.


The players comprising the team were based on the skills displayed during the Inter-District School Under-20 Boys’ Hockey Tournament held at the Colombo Astro Turf Stadium last June and the selection trial held at the Peradeniya University Stadium in the first week of September.


Sri Lanka Schools’ Boys’ Senior Hockey team 2022


Tashan Akash Dissanayake (St. Peter’s College, Bambalapitiya), Randun Vinujaya Dharmaratne (St. Peter’s College, Bambalapitiya), Menula Losath Hewawasam (St. Peter’s College, Bambalapitiya), Kavindu Jayampathi Gunaratne (St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy), M. Hasanga Kavinda Alwis (St. Sylvester’s College, Kandy), Dakshitha Hasthika Samarasinghe (Dharmaraja College, Kandy), A.W. Udesh Sandeepa (St. Aloysius’ College, Galle), Nuwan Nilupul Hendeniya (St. Thomas’ College, Matale), Kaweesha Dasun Anupa Fernando (St. Thomas’ College, Matale), Dulara Randeepa Nanayakkara (Vijaya College, Matale), L. Pasindu Satsara Kalhara (Vidyartha College, Kandy), Navindu Chamod Jayasinghe (Dharmadutha College, Badulla), Sachintha Piyumika Nimesh Gunawardena (Christ Church College, Matale), Abdullah Ifal (S. Thomas’ College, Mt. Lavinia), Lifan Shoshala Fernandopulle (Maris Stella College, Negombo), Sathira Janakwin Renuja Wijetunga (Trinity College, Kandy), Rose Abner Lifton Fernando (St. Joseph’s College, Colombo) and Manosha Dilshan Dissanayake (Kingswood College, Kandy)


Anuruddha Herath Bandara (Manager)

Tyrone Hazara Alwis (Coach)


Governor’s Trophy semifinalists decided 


Malay Cricket Club, Leo Cricket Club, Old Dharmapalian Sports Club, and United Southern Sports Club have sealed their spots in the semifinals of the Governors Trophy Tournament 2022.


In the first semifinal encounter, Malay Cricket Club will be facing Leo Cricket Club on 26 September at the Bloomfield Cricket Grounds. Malay Cricket Club ended the season at the top of Group A winning 10 out of 11 matches while Leo Cricket Club came in at second place in Group B winning eight out of 11 matches played in the first round.


Old Dharmapalian Sports Club finished on top of Group B winning nine out of 11 matches. They will be facing United Southern Sports Club, the second-placed team in Group A with eight wins out of 11 matches. The game will be played at the Dombagoda Grounds on 26 September as well. 


Narammala Sports Club finished at the bottom in Group A while Crusaders Sports Club finished at the bottom in Group B. These two teams will be playing in the intra-province tournament from next year as per the new tournament structure.


Semifinal 1 – Malay Cricket Club vs. Leo Cricket Club on 26 September at Bloomfield Cricket Ground


Semifinal 2 – Old Dharmapalian Sports Club vs. United Southern Sports Club on 26 September at Dombagoda Grounds


SLC distributes cricket balls to 325 schools


Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC), in collaboration with the Sri Lanka Schools’ Cricket Association, commenced the distribution of cricket balls to 325 schools registered to play in the ongoing Under-19 Schools’ Cricket Tournament. 


Releasing an official presser, SLC stated that at the completion of the project, a total of 7,680 cricket balls will have been distributed to schools playing in Divisions 1, 2, and 3 of the ongoing U-19 tournament.


The one-day tournament, which commenced on 5 September, will end on 5 November 2022, and the two-day tournament will start on 20 December after the completion of the Ordinary Level (O/L) examinations.


The distribution of the first set of cricket balls was conducted at a ceremony held at the Lumbini College, Colombo recently, with the participation of officials from SLC, the Sri Lanka Schools’ Cricket Association, and the Ministry of Education.


Among the officials present were Ministry of Education Assistant Director of Sports Ruwan Pathirana, SLC Head of National Cricket Operations Chinthaka Edirimanne, Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association Vice President Oshara Panditharathna, Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association General Secretary J.A.K.S. Indrajith, SLC Head of Coach Education Unit Heshan De Mel, Lumbini College Principal Sarath Gunathilaka, Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association Tournament Secretary Nishantha Kumara, and SLC Schools Cricket Co-ordinator Maurice Dela Zilwa.