Sports News

Malay Cricket Club crowned champions of Governor’s Trophy 2022

The Malay Cricket Club, coached by Wadiba Perera, topped the points table at the conclusion of the tournament with 26.855 points, to clinch the Governor’s Trophy Championship 2022. 

Malay CC managed to win only one game out of the three they played. The tournament was unfortunately disrupted due to adverse weather conditions that prevailed in the country during the last couple of months. Governor’s Trophy limited-overs winners United Southern Sports Club finished as the runners-up of the Two-Day tournament, registering only a single first-innings victory out of the three matches played. They managed to secure 15.715 points.

Tharindu Amarathunga of Old Dharmapalians Sports Club finished as the top run-scorer of the tournament, scoring 235 runs in three matches at an average of 58.75. Gihan de Soyza from Leo Cricket Club finished as the top wicket-taker of the tournament, picking up 14 wickets in two matches.

TeamMatchesWonLossFirst innings wonFirst innings lostTiedNo resultPoints
Malay CC310100126.855
United Southern SC300110115.715
Old Dharmapalians SC3010002  7.315
Leo CC3000102  5.950