Attempt to move motion of censure again President defeated by ruling party

A motion by Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MP M A Sumanthiran to suspend Standing Orders and debate the Motion of censure expressing displeasure over the President as a matter of urgency has been defeated by a Parliamentary vote.

Accordingly, 119 votes were against the motion debate and 68 votes were in favour.

Commenting on the same, Samagi Jana Balawegaya (SJB) MP Harsha De Silva took to twitter to express that the defeat signifies that the “GoHomeGota2022” cries across Sri Lanka have been rejected by the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) allies and the new Prime Minister.